The ISSCD is establishing a series of specialist committees focused on high priority unmet needs in the field of celiac disease and gluten-mediated human disease. Specialist committees can be proposed by any current member of the ISSCD and require a “sponsor” who is a member of the ISSCD Board.

Two committees have already been established:

Proposals for other committees should be submitted to the ISSCD Board by the proposer/s and sponsor via the online Contact Us form. Specialist committees approved by the Board will be supported by the ISSCD administration and encouraged to submit proposals to the Board for consideration, in order to advance the field. 

The aim of a committee is to bring together a group of ISSCD members with a common interest. The Chair will be appointed by the Board and the committee capped at eight members, including the Chair. Members will be selected by the Chair and the ISSCD Board following review of the EOIs.

We are seeking Expressions of Interest (EOIs) from varied disciplines including career researchers (clinical and/or basic science), clinicians, allied health practitioners and patient group representatives.

Ideally, the make-up of each committee will include global or regional representation as appropriate, a gender balance, with differing areas of expertise.

We are currently inviting EOIs for:

Latin American Society for the Study of Celiac Disease (LASSCD)

Fernando Chirdo 2024Chair: Dr Fernando Chirdo (Argentina)

Fernando Chirdo is a Biochemist, and a Doctor in Biochemical Sciences from the Faculty of Exact Sciences of the UNLP. He is Principal Investigator of CONICET (National Council Research and Technology) and Professor of Immunology at the Faculty of Exact Sciences, National University of La Plata (Argentina). He leads the research group “Immunobiology of the small intestine” at the Institute of Immunological and Physiopathological Studies (IIFP) (UNLP-CONICET)(La Plata, Argentina).

During his doctoral thesis he developed a method for quantifying prolamins toxic to celiacs that was transferred to public control agencies and was the basis for the control for gluten free products by the public health authorities. He has investigated basic aspects of the pathogenesis of celiac disease, immunochemistry of prolamins, cloning and analysis of expression of TG2, expression of IFABP, and optimization of serological tests

He has published more than 70 articles in international indexed journals (h=28), and supervised 8 approved PhD theses.

He has different appointments in International scientific organizations. Since 2002, he is Executive Member of the European Working Group on Prolamin Analysis and Toxicity (WGPAT). Since 2015, He is a member of the Membership Committee of the Society of Mucosal Immunology (SMI). He was Councillor of the SMI board in the period 2019-2022.

In 2016, together with other Latin American scientists, he created the Latin American Mucosal Immunology Group (LAMIG). Since then, he is chair of LAMIG. 

Latin American Society for the Study of Celiac Disease (LASSCD)

The role of the Committee is to advance the ISSCD’s objectives in relation to promoting scientific knowledge, education and quality of care of patients in the region of Latin America (LA). Further details are provided in the Terms of Reference for the committee.

The time commitment required to serve on a committee is approximately 20-30 hours per year inclusive of meeting times, outside reading and decision making. Please send your EOI to This should include:

  • Two page CV.
  • A list of up to five relevant publications.
  • A letter of intent, including an explanation of the expertise and/or experience you will bring to the committee.
  • Declaration of any potential conflicts of interest   

Deadline for EOIs for the LASSCD committee is 31 May 2024, 10:00 (GMT+1).

If more suitable EOIs are received than positions available, we will undertake selection through formalized ranking and discussion within the ISSCD Board, in collaboration with the Chair. The outcome on decisions should be known by early June, 2024.